Meriwether County is governed by an elected Board of Commissioners and a County Manager. Commissioners are elected by district and the Chairman is elected by the Commission.

mapAll of the cities are governed by a Mayor and Council with the exception of Manchester, which is governed by a City Manager form of Government. The Mayors and Council Members are elected by Post.